RHITHMS

This is a game that my fellow Game Dev students and I worked on for roughly a month and a half (2 months if you count making a simplified version in Unity). It’s a rhythm-based scrolling combat game; your actions are enhanced if you perform them to the beat of the music playing, and enemies move and attack to the beat to try and stop you from getting to the end of the level.

I was the one who originally suggested the rhythm-based combat (gloat gloat).

I primarily programmed:

  • The rhythm strip (the line of beats scrolling towards the player)
  • The tile system
  • Collision detection and response between all objects
  • Our beat editor tool
  • A few AIs such as the sine-wave-moving enemy and final boss

I also manually recorded nearly all the rhythm strips because my friends and I like to think I have a good sense of rhythm after 14 years of piano lessons.

Download it here.

(Yes, it’s on MediaFire because I’m not in the mood to pay to be able to share my files online just yet. Have a few ads.)

Also, if you have an Xbox 360 controller, I recommend using that to play this game because they were totally meant to be together.

About Anthony Caruso

A Full Sail University alumnus who majored in Game Development. I eventually plan on making my own independent video game company. This section is so lifeless wow
This entry was posted in My games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RHITHMS

  1. John says:

    This looks like a cool game! I’ll have to try it out.

Leave a Reply

